Home > About Us

About Us


Come to George West, the Storytelling Capital of Texas, on Saturday, November 4, 2017 for the 29th annual George West Storyfest!

This Texas Tradition will once again take place around the Live Oak County courthouse square, where storytellers, musicians, living history demonstrators, and more will share their stories with all who want to listen. You can also eat delicious food from local nonprofit groups and do some Christmas shopping from the arts & crafts vendors. The kiddos can have a blast in the children’s area, petting zoo, and can learn day to day cowboy & ranch life from the living history exhibits. We have a classic car show, motorcycle show, Little Red Wagon Parade, and much, much more! FREE ADMISSION!!!

We are in the process of updating the website with all the fun attractions coming for 2017; however, click through the pages on our site to see what all Storyfest has to offer!

Join us this year! You’ll be glad you did!

Mission Statement

The purpose of the George West Storyfest Association, Inc. is to provide a quality, family-oriented event; dedicated to preserving our rich heritage of storytelling. We believe storytelling to be the art of passing information from one generation to the next through various mediums including history, legends, folklore, music and dance. The arts reflect the past, enrich the present, and imagine the future.
of 1

From One of Our Sponsors - ConocoPhillips

of 0

28th Annual George West Storyfest

of 0

Board Members & Executive Director



Cindi Robinson 
Vice President

Vice President

Julie Kaase 


RaDonna Burton 


Flo Moore 


Jim McGee 


Thad Reagan 


Ruben Saenz 
Executive Director

Executive Director

Mary Margaret Campbell 
Associate Director

Associate Director

Shirley Holm 
of 9


Committee Chairpersons & Assistants
Breakfast Committee:
Dobie Dichos Volunteers:
Mary Margaret Campbell, Executive Director
Alice Trevino, Co-Chair
Bill Sibley, Program Co-Chairman
Shirley Holm, Associate Director
Mandie Kolb, Co-Chair
Mary Margaret Campbell, Program Co-Chairman
Jim McGee, Grounds Co-Chairman
Lindsey Carpenter
Cody Campbell, Chili Cook
Thad Reagan, Grounds Co-Chairman
Lynett Krietsch
Rodney Nance, Pan de Campo Cook
Ruben Saenz, Grounds Co-Chairman
Grace Wilson, Josie Chaplin
Melissa Nance, Serving Chairman
Crystal Koenig, Vendor Booth Chairman Amanda Lugo Lamon Bennett, Chili Server
Diane Reagan, Soft Drink Chairman
Erin Nance, Serving Committee
Flo Moore, Sales Booth Co-Chairman
Kids' Challenge Committee Members:
Julie Kaase, Grounds & Drinks Chairman
Ana Guerrero, Sales Booth Co-Chairman Cynthia Zepeda, Co-Chairman Tony Kaase, Grounds Committee
Cathy Ybanez, Food Booth Chairman Shirley Holm, Co-Chairman Jacob Kaase, Grounds Committee
JoAnn Busby, VIP Room Chairman Ty McClendon Harriet Lamm, Grounds Committee
Ralph Lopez, Stage Manager Brooke Goebel Grace Wilson, Decorations
Jamye Royal, Stage Manager

Julie Hardwick

Dobie/West Performing Arts Theatre Committee Members:
Mackey Alvarez, Stage Manage; Local Stories Coordinator Michelle Blount
Mary Ann Pawlik, Onsite Ticket Sales
Ann Snuggs, Wagon Parade Chairman Bridgett Wright
Lamon Bennett
Erica De la Cruz, Beer Concessions

Cherlyn Holland, Glynis Strause

Janelle Johnson, Children’s Area Co-Chairman
Marcus Lane, Children’s Area Co-Chairman
Decorations Committee:
Wagon Parade Committee Members:
Dale Cavallin, Electrician Becky Galloway, Chairman Ann Snuggs, Chairman
Alice Trevino, Breakfast Chairman; Janice Appelt
Cindi Robinson, Liars’ Contests Chairman Diana Ormand
Charlie Sims, Car Show Chairman Pat Sims
Classic Car Show:
Becky Galloway, Decorations Chairman Melany Smith
Charlie Sims, Co Chairman
Melissa Nance, Living History Chairman
Mr. Guthrie, Co-Chairman, Mrs. Sims
Pam Woodmansee, Opening Ceremonies Chairman
Hospitality Room Committee:
Glynis Strause, Sacred Stories Chairman, Local Stories Chairman

Jo Ann Busby, Chairman

Motorcycle Show:
RaDonna Burton, Storytelling in the Schools Chairman Larry Busby, Mrs. Baker
Gary Jones, Co-Chairman
Cynthia Zepeda, Kids' Challenge Co-Chairman Tori Garcia
Randy Garza, Co-Chairman
Gary Jones, Motorcycle Show Co-Chairman Mikey Palacios
Randy Garza, Motorcycle Show Co-Chairman
Beer Concessions:
Ann Snuggs, Publicity Art Chairman
Grounds Committee Members:
Erica DeLaGarza
Sue Winsor, Stage Card Production Jim McGee, Co-Chairman
Mary Ann Pawlik, Dobie/West Theatre Representative Thad Reagan, Co-Chairman
Julie Kaase, Dobie Dichos Setup Chairman Ruben Saenz, Co-Chairman
Bill Sibley, Dobie Dichos Performance Chairman L.T. Davis
Shirley Holm, Webmaster Rhyan Franklin
Bette McGee
Donovan Thomas
of 0
Back to
< Back